Together promoting security in the Western Mediterranean


الرئاسة البرتغالية لمبادرة 5+5 دفاع

Spanish Presidency of the 5+5 Defence Initiative

Présidence Espagnole de l'Initiative 5+5 de Défense

Eagle Vista  Background

The 5+5 Dialogue was launched in 1983 by France, but took shape in July 1990.


The aim was to promote cooperation between the countries bordering the western Mediterranean, including France, Italy, Portugal and Spain, later joined by Malta (the North bank) and Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia (the South bank).In order to stimulate the 5+5 Dialogue, which was blocked since 1991 due to deep divisions between some participants, and to extend it to the Security and Defence dimension, in 2004 France decided to launch a restricted cooperation Initiate on a 4+3 format (Portugal, Spain, France and Italy, plus Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia).


The objective was to promote a cooperation oriented to practical aspects, namely, in order to conduct short-term exercises, to develop a capacity for joint action.


In this context, on the 21st December 2004 the first Defence Ministers Meeting took place in Paris, in which the countries of the 5+5 Defence Initiative signed the Declaration of Intent on cooperation in the field of security.

Spruce Meadows  

The 5+5 Defence Initiative aims to encourage mutual understanding among the member countries, to enhance the understanding and trust, and to develop a multilateral cooperation, in order to promote security in the Western Mediterranean.


Through concrete actions of cooperation, the 5+5 Defence Initiative seeks to help the creation and maintenance of a climate of trust and a frank collaboration between the ten countries (Algeria, France, Italy, Libya, Malta, Mauritania, Morocco, Portugal, Spain and Tunisia), with the objective of significantly contribute to the solutions that address common concerns in the security and defence field.

Otay Crossings  

This logo has in its center and vertically a drop representing the blue Mediterranean Sea.


The flags of the countries are surrounding the drop from left to right, top to bottom, in alphabetical order in English, representing the ten countries: Algeria, France, Italy, Libya, Malta, Mauritania, Morocco, Portugal, Spain and Tunisia.


The designation 5+5 inscribed in red identifies the countries of the North and South of the Western Mediterranean that belong to this organization.


Finally the word defence written in three languages Arabic, English and French, in that order from top to bottom, makes the distinction in relation to others 5+5 fora.